Previous Bio

Back to Who's Who Page

Next Bio



Scouting Bio for our Treasurer Frank Rickenbaugh

Frank first joined Scouting in 1960 when he joined Cub Pack 18 in College Point, Queens.  Frank completed Webelos and then joined Troop 18 in 1963 as a Boy Scout.  Frank attained the rank of Life Scout and went on to serve as an Assistant Scoutmaster and then Scoutmaster.

Frank served as the Dan Beard District Camping Chairman and then the District Chairman.  Frank first went to TMR as a camper in the mid-60ís.  In 1968 he joined the TMR staff and stayed on staff until 1991.  During those years he held every type of position from CIT to Camp Director to Reservation Director.  Some of the highlights include Director of Camp Kunatah 1977-83, Director of Camp Keowa 1984-87, Director of Ten Mile River 1988-91.  Frank also was a GNYC World Jamboree Scoutmaster for the World Jamboree in Australia.

Over the years Frank also has attended many Section Conclaves and staffed numerous council events. His Scouting professional credits include Ranger at Camp Pouch and Director of Alpine Scout Camp 1983 - 87, GNYC Assistant Director of Camping 1988-91, Council program Director for Twin Rivers Council 1992.  Presently Frank is Vice Chairman of the TMR Alumni Association, Trustee of the Ten Mile River Museum and member of the NCAP camp appraisal committee.

Franks training and awards include the Vigil Honor from Suanhacky Lodge, the District Award of Merit, the Silver Beaver, the Scouters Key, the Scouters Training Award, Woodbadge, and National Camp School for Ranger, Camp Management, Program and Camp Visitation.  Frank led the Suanhacky lodge contingent for five NOAC's and served on three NOAC Security staffs.  Frank was the first and third FOTMR President.  He currently is serving as our Treasurer.

Frank has retired after 28 years of employment from the Borough of Alpine, NJ where he served as the Superintendent of the Public Works Department and Fire Sub-Code official with the Building Department. He also served as the Fire Prevention official and the Borough Fire Chief.